Dushanbe has been the capital of the Republic of Tajikistan since 1925 and is one of the most prosperous and densely populated cities in the country. It includes the largest enterprises and organizations, as well as government ministries and agencies. In Dushanbe there are administrative structures of the country, including the Presidential Palace, the Government, Parliament, Ministry of Economy, Ministry of Defense, Ministry of Finance, National Bank, embassies, universities, shopping centers, parks and others.

The population of Dushanbe at the beginning of 2017 was 902 thousand and will increase to 1.3 million taking into account long-distance and temporary residents. The population of Dushanbe is multi-ethnic and is based on Tajiks. National minorities such as Uzbeks, Russians, Kyrgyz, Turkmen, and others also live in the city.


The city of Dushanbe is divided into four administrative districts: Sino, Ismoili Somoni, Firdavsi and Shohmansur. To the north of Dushanbe is the Varzob district, to the south, west and east is the Rudaki district. The northern part of the city is higher and the southern part is lower. To the north of Dushanbe are the Hissor Mountains –  a source of fresh water from snow and glaciers, and also serve as barrier for strong winds.



Khatlon is located in the southern part of the Hissor Mountains. Khatlon region has six cities: Bokhtar, Kulob, Norak, Dangara, Sarband and Panj. It also has 21 districts: Baljuvon, Kushoniyon, Vakhsh, Vose, Dangara, Jomi, Dusti, Qubodiyon, Kulob, Jayhun, Muminabad, Norak, Panj, Rogun, Rumi, Sarband. , Temurmalik, Farkhor, Mir Said Ali Hamadoni, Nosiri Khusrav, Khovaling, Khuroson, Shahritus, Shamsiddini Shohin and Yovon. The climate of Khatlon is continental, with the main rivers Panj and Vakhsh, as well as the Selbur and Muminabad reservoirs.



Sughd is one of the administrative regions of the Republic of Tajikistan. It was established on October 27, 1939 as Leninabad Province. On November 10, 2000, it was renamed Sughd Province. The region is located in northern part of Tajikistan, in the Tien Shan and Hissar ranges, in the northern part of the Fargona Valley. Sughd region is divided into 14 districts: Ayni, Asht, Bobojon Ghafurov, Ghonchi, Jabor Rasulov, Zafarobod, Isfara, Istaravshan, Konibodom, Kuhistoni Mastchoh, Mastchoh, Panjakent, Spitamen and Shahriston. Khujand is the administrative center of the province. The cities in Sughd Province are Ghafurov, Istaravshan, Isfara, Qairoqum, Konibodom, Panjakent, Tabashahr and Chkalovsk.



GBAO was established in January 1925 by the decision of the Central Executive Committee of the USSR. The Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Oblast borders with Kyrgyzstan to the north, China to the East, and Afghanistan to the southwest. The distance of the region is 64,200 kilometers (or 44.5% of the territory of Tajikistan). The region consists of 7 districts and the regional center is the city of Khorog. The region is divided into the town of Khorog and the districts of Darvoz, Vanj, Rushon, Shugnon, Roshtqala, Ishkashim and Murgob.

Leave a comment